I just got a notification that GAIN was trying to load something on my PC on page load. Anyone else seen this one? I am trying to narrow down the ad. It looks like it may be a Gateway ad that's doing it, but want to get a second.
Originally posted by Convergent I just got a notification that GAIN was trying to load something on my PC on page load. Anyone else seen this one? I am trying to narrow down the ad. It looks like it may be a Gateway ad that's doing it, but want to get a second.
I have been victimized by them in the past. I knew not to load the software, but I did notice it tried when I opened the home page. GAIN is nasty spyware/adware.
Originally posted by Convergent OK guys, no one has answered my question... are you seeing the Gateway ad (probably at the very bottom of the page), when this pops?
Nope Mike..not on mine...
__________________
Funny it worked.....the last time!!Now I am not sure what was working before they put a hole in my head!!!!
So what ad are you seeing? I have to kill the ad that is generating it. This is very sneaky because I've only seen it once and it is in an ad that I know comes up more than that... so maybe they got complaints and pulled it from the ad.
My only way of killing these guys is identifying the ad that causes it and then turning it off.
Originally posted by Convergent So what ad are you seeing? I have to kill the ad that is generating it. This is very sneaky because I've only seen it once and it is in an ad that I know comes up more than that... so maybe they got complaints and pulled it from the ad.
My only way of killing these guys is identifying the ad that causes it and then turning it off.
Thanks for your help and patience.
So far as I know, none of the ads on pdaPhoneHome has tried to install GAIN, or any other adware onto my computer.
Its that system tray ad that did it, I believe, but unfortunately when I click on the ad, it doesn't work. So, I can't figure out the name of the company. I tried banning a few advertisers who recently started campaigns and seemed like potential problems... but I wasn't able to find that ad. If anyone can figure out what company is sponsoring it, let me know.
Its quite annoying (the System Tray Ad) as you can't even see the sponsoring company unless you let Gator/Gain load. The url to that image is: http://cdn.valueclick.com/hg/a013320...-Shaketag.gif, but you probably already knew that.
Doesn't the site admin have control over this type of thing? Every time I come here now I get that software popup wanting me to download Gator. This is the first site I have seen this. No other sites I frequent, pop up that box.
OK, I think that I killed it... but I'll let you guys tell me.
Gary, we don't have direct control of what ads that the ad network sells. Valueclick is starting to be more of a problem, and we may need to drop them. They know that we do not allow any ads of this type, but they keep popping in here. They had been very good for a very long time, but lately it seems that every few weeks another one slips in. I'm half thinking that some of these advertisers are playing games. It still amazes me that people think that they will sell something by loading annoying ads that will cause people not to come back to the site.
By the way, the name of the company running the bad ad I think is Claria.... so don't buy anything from them!
Update, well right after I typed that, I did a Google and found that Gator changed their name to Claria, or was bought or something. That explains that. They were probably blacklisted everywhere on the planet. So, now I'm sure as I've banned all ads from Claria. I'm going to talk to Valueclick about this and let them know we don't want Claria to ever be allowed. They seem to be starting a lot of different campaigns to trip people up.... amazing.