+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

i760 and Opera Mini... How to Install?

Hey there guys. I got my i760 a few days ago and i'm a complete newbie with pda phones. I went to www.operamini.com on my phone and clicked download and nothing happens... Am I suppose to receive a prompt pf anything? I then go to program files and there is a file there under the name mini. I then click on it tells me it does not recognize the program or something and I have to run the program first to be able to accessit. I am totally lost here. Any information will totally be appreciated!!

You probably downloaded the java file and don't have a JVM installed. I'm not sure about the current release version but the Opera Mini beta (which brings all the cool features to the table that make it Opera useful) requires a Java environment.

I went through this the other day and actually decided against using it afterwards because I wasn't happy with some of the features. I found a version of Deepfish that I have been playing with instead.

The URL below describes how you can install the J9 JVM...it's a bit of a manual process. There are other JVMs out there but I am not familiar with them.

markus.brosch.net » Blog Archive » Java/Midlet Environment IBM J9 *with* JSR-75 support (updated)

New Mexico (yes that's in the USA & the water is drinkable)
    do some quick searches at PPCGeeks.com and you will find everything you need to get opera mini up and running ....

I'm out the door right now but if I have time I'll try to find you links ... the search and RTFMB methods will get you there in about 15 minutes (before I can get home)
    Favorite DNRC's inDUHvidual's quotes

"I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous"
    "Never pet a burning dog"

...or search here on Esmertec Jbed.
    -s

Thanks for all the info everyone! I will try deepfish as well.

Quote Originally Posted by volcomsnows2k View Post
    Thanks for all the info everyone! I will try deepfish as well.